Brutal sub-state draw for MHS spikers

By Steve Sell
October 01, 2015

The Kansas State High School Activities Association has assured that some ranked teams won’t be at the Class 4A Division I State Volleyball Tournament at the end of the month at Salina’s Bicentennial Center.

Three of the five top-ranked teams in 4A D-I have been paired in a four-team sub-state Oct. 24 at Buhler.

McPherson High (No. 2), Hays (No. 3) and Abilene (No. 5) will join the host Crusaders, meaning two of the best teams in the class will be staying home.

Top-ranked Miege and No. 7 Basehor-Linwood also are paired in the same sub-state, so one of them will be staying home as well. 

In addition, No. 4 Louisburg and No. 10 DeSoto are together, as are No. 6 Andale and No. 9 Rose Hill, so a lot of good teams will be eliminated by the time the final eight teams invade the Bicentennial Center on Oct. 30.

Here’s the assignments for the area teams:

• Hesston (at Southeast of Saline) — Council Grove, Southeast of Saline, Halstead, Hesston, Trinity Catholic, Lyons, Marion, Sedgwick.

• Moundridge (at Moundridge) — Canton-Galva, Central Plains, Berean, Ellinwood, Hillsboro, Inman, Little River and Moundridge.

• Smoky Valley (at Nickerson) — Haven, Nickerson, Pratt and Smoky Valley.

• Elyria Christian (at Altoona) — Altoona-Midway, Burrton, Colony Crest, Hartford and Elyria Christian.