MHS' new football district gains Wamego, loses Buhler

By Steve Sell
October 07, 2015

McPherson High’s football team, currently in arguably the toughest district in Class 4A Division I, will have a slight alteration to its district for the next two years, according to an announcement made today by KSHSAA.

Beginning in 2016, the Bullpups will play a district that includes current teams Abilene and Hays. However, Buhler — just 15 minutes away — has been shipped out and in comes Wamego.

Buhler goes into a district that includes Andale, El Dorado and Circle.

Smoky Valley’s new district in Class 4A Division II includes Chapman, Clay Center and Rock Creek. 

In Class 3A, Hesston is grouped with Southeast of Saline, Hillsboro and Marion.

Inman and Moundridge stay together in Class 2-1A. They are joined by Medicine Lodge, Sedgwick and Remington.

Canton-Galva and Little River are in the same 8-Man district. St. John, Goessel, Ellinwood and Central Plains are the other schools. 

The new districts:

• Class 6A •

East -Gardner-Edgerton, Kansas City-Wyandotte, Lawrence, Olathe-East, Olathe-North, Olathe-Northwest, Olathe-South, Overland Park-Blue Valley, Overland Park-Blue Valley North, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest, Overland Park-Blue Valley West, Shawnee Mission-East, Shawnee Mission-North, Shawnee Mission-Northwest, Shawnee Mission-South, Shawnee Mission-West

West -Derby, Dodge City, Garden City, Haysville-Campus, Hutchinson, Junction City, Lawrence Free-State, Manhattan, Topeka, Topeka-Washburn Rural, Wichita-East, Wichita-North, Wichita-Northwest, Wichita-South, Wichita-Southeast, Wichita-West

• Class 5A •

East -Bonner Springs, Kansas City-FL Schlagle, Kansas City-JC Harmon, Kansas City-Sumner Academy, Kansas City-Turner, Kansas City-Washington, Lansing, Leavenworth, Lenexa-St. James Academy, Overland Park-Blue Valley Southwest, Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas, Pittsburg, Shawnee-Mill Valley, Tecumseh-Shawnee Heights, Topeka-Highland Park, Topeka-Seaman

West -Andover, Arkansas City, Emporia, Goddard, Goddard-Eisenhower, Great Bend, Liberal, Maize, Newton, Salina-Central, Salina-South, Topeka-West, Valley Center, Wichita-Bishop Carroll, Wichita-Heights, Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel

• Class 4A – Division I •

District 1 – Atchison, Basehor-Linwood, Kansas City-Piper, Tonganoxie

District 2 – De Soto, Eudora, Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege, Spring Hill 

District 3 – Fort Scott, Louisburg, Ottawa, Paola

District 4 – Altamont-Labette County, Chanute, Coffeyville-Field Kindley, Independence

District 5 – Mulvane, Ulysses, Wellington, Winfield

District 6 – Andover-Central, Augusta, Maize-South, Rose Hill

District 7 – Andale, Buhler, El Dorado, Towanda-Circle

District 8 – Abilene, McPherson, Hays, Wamego

• Class 4A – Division II •

District 1 – Carbondale-Santa Fe Trail, Holton, Meriden-Jefferson West, Topeka-Hayden

District 2 – Baldwin, Kansas City-Bishop Ward, La Cygne-Prairie View, Oswatomie

District 3 – Burlington, Garnett-Anderson County, Girard, Iola

District 4 – Baxter Springs, Columbus, Frontenac, Parsons

District 5 – Clearwater, Nickerson, Wichita-Collegiate, Wichita-Trinity Academy

District 6 – Chapman, Clay Center Community, Lindsborg-Smoky Valley, St. George-Rock Creek 

District 7 – Colby, Concordia, Goodland, Scott Community

District 8 – Holcomb, Hugoton, Kingman, Pratt

• Class 3A •

District 1 – Hiawatha, Sabetha, Seneca-Nemaha Central, Wathena-Riverside

District 2 – Atchison-Maur Hill Mt. Academy, Easton-Pleasant Ridge, Effingham-Atchison County Community, Leavenworth-Immaculata/Shawnee-Marantha Academy

District 3 – Hoyt-Royal Valley, Oskaloosa, Perry-Lecompton, Silver Lake

District 4 – Council Grove, Eskridge-Mission Valley, Rossville, St. Marys

District 5 – Osage City, Pomona-West Franklin, Richmond-Central Heights, Wellsville

District 6 – Arma-Northeast, Erie, Humboldt, Mound City Jayhawk Linn

District 7 – Cherokee-Southeast, Cherryvale, Galena, Riverton

District 8 – Caney-Caney Valley, Eureka, Fredonia/Longton Elk Valley, Neodesha

District 9 – Belle Plaine, Douglass, Leon-Bluestem, Wichita-The Independent

District 10 – Anthony/Harper-Chaparral, Cheney, Conway Springs, Garden Plain

District 11 – Halstead, Haven, Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic, Sterling

District 12 – Gypsum-SE of Saline, Hesston, Hillsboro, Marion

District 13 – Beloit, Marysville, Minneapolis, Riley County

District 14 – Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian, Norton Community, Phillipsburg, Russell

District 15 – Ellsworth, Hoisington, Larned, Lyons

District 16 – Cimarron, Kismet-Southwestern Heights, Lakin, Syracuse

• Class 2-1A •

District 1 – Highland-Doniphan West, Horton, McLouth, Troy, Winchester-Jefferson County North

District 2 – Alma-Wabaunsee, Blue Rapids-Valley Heights, Centralia, Holton-Jackson Heights, Washington County 

District 3 – Allen-Northern Heights, Cottonwood Falls-Chase County, Lyndon, Olpe

District 4 – Oswego, Pittsburg-St. Mary’s Colgan, Uniontown, Yates Center

District 5 – Inman, Medicine Lodge, Moundridge, Sedgwick, Whitewater-Remington

District 6 – Belleville-Republic County, Brookville-Ell Saline, Salina-Sacred Heart, Smith Center

District 7 – Ellis, La Crosse, Oakley, Plainville

District 8 – Elkhart, Johnson-Stanton County, Meade, Sublette

• Class 8-Man – Division I •

District 1 – Howard-West Elk, LeRoy-Southern Coffey County, Madison/Hamilton, Moran-Marmaton Valley, Sedan, St. Paul

District 2 – Burden-Central, Cedar Vale/Dexter, Oxford, Peabody-Burns, Rosalia-Flinthills, Udall

District 3 – Burlingame, Clyde-Clifton Clyde, Herington, Lost Springs-Centre, Onaga, Rural Vista (White City/Hope), Valley Falls

District 4 – Bennington, Lincoln, Logan/Palco, Osborne, Solomon, Victoria

District 5 – Canton-Galva, Claflin-Central Plains, Ellinwood, Goessel, Little River, St. John-Hudson

District 6 – Attica/Argonia, Coldwater-South Central, Greensburg-Kiowa County, Langdon-Fairfield, Macksville, Pratt-Skyline 

District 7 – Kinsley, Leoti-Wichita County, Montezuma-South Gray, Ness City, Satanta, Spearville

District 8 – Atwood-Rawlins County, Hill City, Hoxie, Oberlin-Decatur Community, Quinter, St. Francis, Wakeeney-Trego Community

• Class 8 Man – Division II •

District 1 – Buffalo-Altoona Midway, Chetopa, Colony-Crest, Lebo, Melvern-Marias Des Cygnes Valley, Pleasanton, Waverly

District 2 – Burrton, Caldwell, Hartford, Hutchinson-Central Christian, Norwich, South Haven

District 3 – Axtell, Frankfort, Hanover, Randolph-Blue Valley, Wakefield, Wetmore

District 4 – Beloit-St. Johns/Tipton, Linn, Mankato-Rock Hills, Scandia-Pike Valley, Southern Cloud (Miltonvale/Glasco), Tescott

District 5 – Almena-Northern Valley, Downs-Lakeside, Kensington-Thunder Ridge, Stockton, Sylvan Grove-Sylvan Lucas Unified, Wilson

District 6 – Dighton, Jetmore-Hodgeman County, Otis-Bison, Sharon Springs-Wallace County, Tribune-Greeley County, Winona-Triplains/Brewster

District 7 – Ashland, Bucklin, Chase, Kiowa-South Barber, Pretty Prairie, Stafford

District 8 – Deerfield, Fowler, Ingalls, Minneola, Moscow, Roll