Mac College theatre presenting "The Great Cross Country Race" this weekend

By Chris Swick
November 13, 2015

The McPherson College theatre department is presenting a different take on the classic Aesop's fable “The Tortoise and the Hare” this weekend.

"The Great Cross Country Race" is the senior project of Crystal Osner and she decided to take her interpretation in a Steampunk direction.

Osner came across the Steampunk idea while on Pinterest. Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction set in the Victorian 19thCentury that mixes Charles Dickens with clockwork robots and steam-powered vehicles and weapons.

"The Great Cross Country Race" will be a simple retelling of the fable, with only Osner's costume designs leaning towards the Steampunk genre.

“I like the steampunk fashion,” Osner said. “I like the Victorian style, but also the way steampunk roughs it up.”

"The Great Cross Country Race" will be presented tonight and Saturday, with showings both days at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $5 for adults and $3.50 for children high school aged and younger. For more information, contact the threatre box office at 242-0444.

Cast is: McPherson College – Nick Greenway, junior, Wichita, Kan. (The Hare); Josh Hall, senior, Tonganoxie, Kan. (A Badger); Whitney Murray, sophomore, Kansas City, Kan. (A Rabbit); Ashley Burch, freshman, Pittsburg, Kan. (A Hedgehog); Logan Schrag, sophomore, McPherson, Kan. (A Water Rat); Austin Crosby, sophomore, McPherson, Kan. (A Squirrel); James Covel, senior, Goddard, Kan. (The Tortoise) Callie Atkins, junior, Stillwater, Okla. (A Rook); Aubrey Hollinger, sophomore, Lyons, Kan. (The Dog).

McPherson Middle School – Zach Wash (Jack), Kendall Boughfman (Robin), Andre Patton (A Fisherman), Arriana Gross (Maude), Blade Anderson (George), Isaac Rickman (Mr. Notcouth), Kaylee Zeitlow (Mrs. Notcouth), Abbey Paulsen (Sophia Notcouth), Kade Goss (Brando Notcouth), Kaylie May (Farmer), and Sydney Achilles (Mrs. Stainer).

Crew is: Dr. Rick Tyler, professor of speech and theatre (director, set and lighting design); Addie Johnson, senior, McPherson, Kan. (stage manager); Crystal Osner, senior, Conway Springs, Kan. (costume and make-up design); Eric Johnson ’89 of McPherson, Kan. (technical director); Whitney Murray, sophomore, Kansas City, Kan. (props); Abby Trenkle, senior, Haysville, Kan.