Former Bullpup earns high KCAC honors

By Steve Sell
November 13, 2015
Ottawa University Sports Information

WICHITA — McPherson College and Bethany College were shut out today when the All-KCAC volleyball first team was announced.

Former McPherson High standout Bethany Farres, a junior at Ottawa University, was named KCAC Setter of the Year. She also was selected to the first team, of which the Braves had three selections.

Ottawa’s Janaya Fox was named Player of the Year and the Braves’ Hannah Sittig was Libero of the Year.

OU’s Melissa Blessington was named Coach of the Year. Sterling’s Chelsey Riffel was Freshman of the Year. Kansas Wesleyan’s Jessica Lovejoy was tabbed Assistant Coach of the Year.

Bethany’s Kimberly Stringer was chosen to the second team. The Swedes’ Carli Vahsholtz was picked honorable mention.

McPherson College’s Emily Warner and Taryn Lee also were selected to the honorable mention team.