2 Swedes make All-KCAC football team

By Steve Sell
November 17, 2015

WICHITA — Bethany College landed two players on the All-KCAC football team announced today.

Nile Daniel made the first team at wide receiver, while Chris Washington was named first-team linebacker.

Tabor’s Mike Gardner was named Coach of the Year, while Player of the Year went to Jake Curran of Kansas Wesleyan. Tabor claimed both the Offensive Player of the Year (Simon McKee) and Defensive Player of the Year (Dylan Delk).

Sterling’s Eddie Juarez was Special Teams Player of the Year, while Friends’ Mason Pauly was named recipient of the Ted Kessinger Award.

Saint Mary’s Fran Schwenk was selected Assistant Coach of the Year.

Four Swedes — offensive linemen Justin Burns and Brooks Porter, along with defensive back Roman Roberson and place-kicker Adam Maisch — were named to the second team. McPherson College’s Dalton Whitfield and Braden Bush also were picked to the second team.

Honorable mention picks for the Swedes were running back Kayden Clements, offensive lineman Cory McManus, defensive linemen Freddie Frazier and Quincy Carter, defensive back Taylor Stull, punter Brett Crome and Daniel as a returner.

For McPherson College, Michael Ramos at receiver and Daniel Musika in the offensive line were honorable mention on offense and Michael Rabara was honorable mention at linebacker.

McPherson High graduate Zach Lanning, who plays for Ottawa, was named first team as a defensive lineman.

Here is the first team:

• Offense •

QB — Jake Curran, Kansas Wesleyan

RB — Preston Oliver, Bethel; Jesse Rogers, Friends; Tanner Staats, Ottawa

FB — Colby Donahue, Kansas Wesleyan

WR — Nile Daniel, Bethany; Terrance Polk, Ottawa; Cole Williams, Saint Mary

TE — Mitch Kufahl, Kansas Wesleyan

 U — Kelly Cordova, Kansas Wesleyan

OL — Mitch Butterfield, Friends; Ayrius Brown, Kansas Wesleyan; Trae Boese, Ottawa; Jake Holland, Sterling; Jess Croley, Tabor

• Defense •

L — Mason Pauly, Friends; Zach Lanning, Ottawa; Dylan Delk, Tabor; Derrick Lawrence, Tabor

LB — Chris Washington, Bethany; Josh Lewis, Friends; Anthony Curtis, Ottawa; Eric Walker, Southwestern

DB — Sequente Marks, Friends; Darien Anderson, Ottawa; James Foote, Tabor; Kenny Nez, Saint Mary

• Special Teams •

KR — Josh Wesley, Friends

PR — Bo Westerfield, Sterling

P — Eddie Juarez, Sterling

K — Jared Slavens, Tabor