MHS wrestlers stay perfect at home

By Steve Sell
January 22, 2016
File Photo-Kendall Shaw

For once, McPherson High’s wrestling team took it easy on their fans’ hearts.

Instead of Thursday’s dual with Augusta coming down to the final match to decide the outcome and keep the fans on the edge of their seats, the Bullpups assumed command early and went on for a 51-30 victory.

MHS remains unbeaten at home at 4-0. It is now 10-3 in duals and 3-0 in AVCTL Division III as it continues on its quest to win the league title.

“Tremendous team effort from the top to the bottom of the varsity lineup,” MHS coach Doug Kretzer said. “The team was hungry and really wanted this dual. They've got aspirations to be league champs and they gave themselves a chance to do that by earning this win.”

The Bullpups were uber-aggressive, winning eight matches by falls. Kaleb Jost, at 182, won his match in a stunning 17 seconds. Ty Goss, at 285, also made quick work as he recorded a fall just 49 seconds in.

Also scoring falls were EJ Kretzer at 106, Cole Kretzer at 120, Scott Radke at 138, Brice Kasting at 145, Luke Thompson at 160 and Dylan Baldwin at 195. Ben Hopkins won by decision at 126.

The Bullpups have no time to rest as they compete today and Saturday in the Prairie Classic in Hays.


106 — EJ Kretzer (M) defeated Briggs Erwin (A) by fall

113 — John George (A) defeated Seth Morgan (M) by fall

120 — Cole Kretzer (M) defeated Gage Mason (A) by fall

126 — Ben Hopkins (M) defeated Alvin George (A) 13-8

132 — Josh Moore (A) defeated Brynton Crews (M) by fall

138 — Scott Radke (M) defeated Josh Moore (A) by fall

145 — Brice Kasting (M) defeated Sam Rinkenbaugh (A) by fall

152 — Rob Winzer (A) defeated Noah Bratcher (M) by fall

160 — Luke Thompson (M) defeated Andrew Duncan (A) by fall

170 — Scott Hooglugt (A) defeated Caleb Giddings (M) by fall

182 — Kaleb Jost (M) defeated Wade Hall (A) by fall

195 — Dylan Baldwin (M) defeated Jesse Clark (A) by fall

220 — Cole Edwards (A) defeated Alex Grennan (M) by fall

285 — Ty Goss (M) defeated Ben Volkman (A) by fall


113 — Mya Kretzer lost by fall

113 — Hannah Moore lost by fall

138 — Tyler Scott won by fall

145 — Noah Scott won by a fall

152 — Garrett Rausch won by fall; lost by fall

152 — Cade Harris lost by fall; won by fall

160 — Jerome Dishmon lost by fall; lost by fall

195 — Seth Spainhour lost by fall

220 — Donovon Bailey lost by fall; won by fall

285 — Jared Ruth won by fall

285 — Karsten Hardeman lost 7-6 dec.