Robertson makes All-Tourney

By Steve Sell
February 01, 2016

McPherson High’s Taylor Robertson came away with a couple of honors Saturday from the Mid America Classic.

Robertson, the tournament’s leading scorer for the second year in a row with 44 points, was picked to the five-member All-Tournament Team as voted on by the tourney’s eight coaches. She was joined by Brenni Rose of Shawnee Mission Northwest, Sydney Wilson of Olathe East, Elizabeth Holmes of Shawnee Mission South and Madison Mittie of Manhattan.

Robertson repeated as the 3-point shooting contest winner by making 22 of 30. Second was Tyler Winter of Andale (17) while Danielle Rehor of Shawnee Mission Northwest (16) took third.

Shawnee Mission Northwest’s Shelbie McLain was the free throw contest winner by making 31 of 35. McPherson’s Ashtyn Schieferecke was second with 29 and Olathe East’s Cameron Kincaid was third with 28.

Hays was the winner of the annual John Watkins Sportsmanship Award.


Taylor Robertson, McPherson, 44

Brenni Rose, Shawnee Mission Northwest, 38

Sydney Wilson, Olathe East, 36

Madi McAvoy, Shawnee Mission South, 36

Mandi Cooks, McPherson, 35

Talyn Kleweno, Hays, 30

Karoline Shelton, Shawnee Mission South, 30

Madison Mittie, Manhattan, 29

Ashtyn Schieferecke, McPherson, 29

Gigi McAtee, Manhattan, 28


Jill Bergkamp, Andale, 26

Karoline Shelton, Shawnee Mission South, 24

Madison Mittie, Manhattan, 23

Kadey Dreiling, Andale, 21

Clara Sitas, Shawnee Mission South, 20

Ashtyn Schieferecke, McPherson, 20

Regan Schumacher, Olathe East, 20

Robyn MacDonald, Shawnee Mission South, 19

Brenni Rose, Shawnee Mission Northwest, 19

Mandi Cooks, McPherson, 17

Audra Schmeidler, Hays, 17