MHS wrestlers fall to El Dorado to share title

By Steve Sell
February 12, 2016
File -Kendall Shaw

EL DORADO — The El Dorado Wildcats climbed to No. 3 in Class 4A this week in the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association rankings.

It was easy to see why on Thursday.

The Wildcats won nearly every on-mat match with McPherson High for a 51-27 victory, as both teams finished AVCTL Division III duals with a 4-1 record to share the title. 

MHS was hoping for what was believed to be its first-ever outright title.

“We wrestled hard,” MHS coach Doug Kretzer said. “We had some big match-ups that I thought we could win where we gave up bonus points. Once that snowball got going, we just couldn’t get it turned around and the dual got out of hand. It was a disappointing dual for our team, but when you look at the dual schedule as a whole, we really performed well this year.  We’ve got a good blend of all four classes in the lineup, so I feel like we’re going to be competitive as a dual team for quite a few years to come.”

MHS actually won only two matches on the mat, Austin Eldredge at 138 (9-2) and Kaleb Jost at 182 (fall). MHS received forfeits at 120 (Cole Kretzer), 126 (Brynton Crews) and 285 (Ty Goss (heavyweight). 

El Dorado led only 18-15 when it got to the middle of the MHS lineup and reeled off six wins in seven matches.

The Bullpups now prepare for next week’s regional, which will be hosted by Smoky Valley in Lindsborg.


106 — Payton Sadowski (E) defeated EJ Kretzer (M) by fall

113 — Jaxon Roberts (E) injury default over Seth Morgan (M)

120 — Cole Kretzer (M) won by forfeit

126 — Brynton Crews (M) won by forfeit

132 — Jack Thomas (E) defeated Ben Hopkins (M) by fall

138 — Austin Eldredge (M) defeated Mason Herman (E) 9-2

145 — Dakota Motter (E) defeated Brice Kasting (M) by fall

152 — Reno Hughey (E) defeated Cade Harris (M) by fall

160 — Braden Morgan (E) defeated Luke Thompson (M) 8-3

170 — Matt Triboletti (E) defeated Caleb Giddings (M) by fall

182 — Kaleb Jost (M) defeated Ethan Hamilton (E) by fall

195 — Austin Powell (E) defeated Dylan Baldwin (M) by fall

220 — Cameron Hunt (E) defeated Alex Grennan (M) by fall

285 — Ty Goss (M) won by forfeit

• JV •

138 — Scott Radke (M) defeated Seth Heckler (E) by fall

145 — Evan Dean (E) defeated Noah Scott (M) by fall

152 — Cody Hancock (E) defeated Garrett Rausch (M) by fall