Robertson tabbed D-III MVP; Cooks, Schieferecke on 1st team

By Steve Sell
March 13, 2016
Kendall Shaw

The All-AVCTL Division III girls basketball first team announced today almost looked like the starting five that coach Chris Strathman sent to the floor each game.

Led by league MVP Taylor Robertson, the Bullpups landed three spots on the first team, with Mandi Cooks and Ashtyn Schieferecke joining her. It’s the second straight year for sophomores Robertson and Cooks to make the first team.

Strathman was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Others on the first team were Jessica Steffen of Buhler, and Anna Van Driel and Kayla Simoneau of Rose Hill.

The Bullpups also did well on the second team, led by Emma Yowell and Kamryn Collins. Others chosen were Abby Bertholf of Winfield, Jayden Marlnee of Augusta, Kayln Beel of El Dorado and Morgan Rohr of Buhler.

Honorable mention selections were Caedyn Reinhardt of El Dorado, Hannah Wingett and Mallory Meier of Winfield, Kylie Woods of Rose Hill and Taylor Hinnenkamp of Augusta.