Bohnenblust Elected as National Republican Delegate

By Jolyn Johnston-Myers
April 18, 2016
Bohnenblust (right) with Arpke and Mast

McPherson County Republican Chairman Dave Bohnenblust was elected to serve as a national Republican delegate.

"I am surprised, humbled, and honored by my selection," Bohnenblust said of being elected to represent the district during Saturday's 1st Congressional District meeting in Salina.

Bohnenblust was one of three delegates elected from more than 40 candidates. State Senator Tom Arpke of Salina and State Representative Peggy Mast of Emporia were the other delegates. The three alternates elected were Randy Duncan of Salina; Celia Beymer of Lakin; and Tanner Temple, a Fort Hays University student from Garden City. 

An additional 25 delegates and alternates will be selected May 14 at the Republican State Committee meeting in Topeka. Kansas will send a total of 40 delegates to the Republican National Convention, which will be July 18-21 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Bohnenblust will pay his own way to the convention. Any one wishing to support Bohnenblust may contact him at [email protected]