BC, Mac men rule KCAC tennis honors

By Steve Sell
April 28, 2016

McPherson College and Bethany College slugged it out all year in KCAC men’s tennis and they did so again in the postseason awards announced on Wednesday.

The Swedes’ Manuel Raga was named Player of the Year and Bethany’s Tony Swiantek was picked Coach of the Year after his team won the KCAC title on the final day by outlasting McPherson College 5-4 in a battle of 7-0 teams.

Raga also was on the first team along with teammate Juan Mateus. The Bulldogs’ Joan-Marc Rodriguez Fajula and Ahmed Lalou were on the first team as well.

Bethany’s Conrad Mascarenhas was named Freshman of the Year and also was chosen to the second team. The Swedes’ Bruno Campos was on the second team as well, as were McPherson College’s Hugo Ball-Greene and Hector Carrillo Perales.

Tabor’s Illia Filanchuk was the Newcomer of the Year, Friends’ Ferdinand Ostrowicki was named Scholar Athlete of the Year and Tabor’s Harrison Faber was recipient of the Sportsmanship Award.

The men’s postseason tournament begins Friday in Wichita as the top four teams gather. McPherson College plays Friends in one semifinal and Bethany takes on Southwestern in the other. Mac defeated Friends 6-3 earlier this season and the Swedes took care of the Mounbuilders, 8-1.

The finals are on Saturday, the women at 9 a.m., and the men at 1 p.m.