McKinney, MHS Grads Receive College Scholarships and Recognition Tonight

By Jolyn Johnston-Myers
May 10, 2016
2016 MHS Grad Janae McKinney

McPherson High School senior Janae McKinney is one of several scholarship recipients from the Class of 2016 who will be honored at the McPherson High School during its annual Academic Honors and Scholarship Night.

The event starts at 6:30 this evening and will take place in the McPherson High School's main theater. The public is invited to attend.

McKinney is the recipient of a $2,500 scholarship from the Philanthropic Educational Organization, or P.E.O., a prestigious Star Scholarship awarded nationally each year to young women high school graduates who have demonstrated excellence in leadership, extracurricular activities, community service, academics, and potential for future success.

McKinney has also been selected to receive the Dale M. Dennis Excellence in Education Award. These awards are given to high school seniors across the state of Kansas who display excellent citizenship, community and school service, and strong self-awareness that makes them a quality individual.

Janae McKinney will apply these scholarships in the fall to Kansas State University, where she plans to pursue a degree in AG Communications.

Three McPherson High School band students are also the recipients of music scholarships from McPherson College.

Naomi Cartmell, Kaitlyn van Asselt, and Jarrett Evans have all signed their scholarship letters of intent to attend McPherson College and play in the college band led by Kyle Hopkins, director of bands and associate professor of music at McPherson College.