3 Bullpups make baseball 1st team; Gerstner top coach

By Steve Sell
May 30, 2016

McPherson High’s AVCTL Division III championship baseball team had three players earn first-team league honors, according to voting by the coaches.

Third baseman Marcus McDaniel, outfielder Micah McCulley and designated hitter Casen Hoover earned first-team status. The Bullpups won the league title by a game over Buhler and Rose Hill.

MHS’ Heath Gerstner was named Coach of the Year, while Buhler’s Jace Williams was tabbed league MVP.

Making second team for the Bullpups were first baseman Jacob Loecker, and pitchers Jack Reifschneider and Caleb Schmidt.

Reifschneider made honorable mention as an outfielder, while McCulley was tabbed as a pitcher. Dylan Werries earned that honor at shortstop and Alex Kalkhorst was the HM catcher.

Here is the first team:

• Catcher — Brett Bonar, Rose Hill

• 1st Base — Sam Grant, Rose Hill

• 2nd Base — Kyle Boal, Rose Hill

• Shortstop — Jace Williams, Buhler

• 3rd Base — Marcus McDaniel, McPherson

• Outfield — Micah McCulley, McPherson; Nate Scantlin, Rose Hill; Hunter Ogburn, Buhler; Tanner White, El Dorado.

• Utility — Gannon Marcotte, Augusta

• DH — Casen Hoover, McPherson

• Pitchers — Jack Goertzen, Buhler; Griffin McBride, Rose Hill; Cole Roberts, El Dorado; Dallin Marlnee, Augusta