13 Bulldogs honored for academic prowess

By Steve Sell
June 02, 2016

A whopping 13 McPherson College spring sports participants have been named Scholar-Athletes by the NAIA.

Nine competed for the track and field team, including Miranda Clark-Ulrich, Michael Barrett, Dixon Cooney, Erika Doty, Megan James, Jasmine Helms, Daniel May, Geoffrey Pugh and Rea Samuels.

Softball honorees were Amanda Darrow, Emily Davis, Simone Donaldson and Cassandra Moreno.

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status.