Jr. Legion drops finale in tourney Sunday

By Steve Sell
June 13, 2016

While the McPherson Junior American Legion baseball team finished its own tournament Sunday without a win for the three days, Post 24 coach Heath Gerstner pointed out “what might have been.”

Post 24 was edged 9-7 in its bracket game Sunday by the Kansas Senators. It finished 0-4, but it could easily have won all four games. It lost by two runs in its opener to Great Bend, took the Topeka Scrappers into extra innings and also lost by a run to the Wichita Aviators.

“The Topeka Scrappers won the tournament and I thought we were the closest team to beating them,” said Gerstner, whose team is now 2-6. “It’s disappointing going 0-4 for this weekend in our own tournament as I believe we can play better baseball than that. We have to improve at pitching and defense to give us a chance in any game.”

It was a 1-all game until the fourth when the Senators scored five runs, but McPherson came right back with four. But three runs in the fifth gave the visitors a 9-5 lead and it needed that cushion as Post 24 rallied with a pair to make things interesting.

Post 24 again hit the ball well with Zane Myers, Shane Starkel and Caleb Potucek all collecting two, while Jorge Hanschu clubbed a triple.

Trey Hanken and Gunnar Reiss split the pitching duties. Hanken allowed only one run in his three innings of work.

Post 24 is scheduled to play a single game Tuesday at Augusta before heading to Omaha, Neb., for a weekend tournament.

“Excited to head to Omaha next weekend and spend some time with these kids in a different atmosphere,” Gerstner said. “We will continue to get 1 percent better every time we take the field and more importantly teach them to handle adversity.”

• McPherson (7) — Reiss 3-1-1-1, Myers 3-1-2-2, Hanschu 3-1-1-1, Hanken 2-0-1-1, Kerr 0-0-0-0, Scott 2-0-0-0, Whittker 3-0-0-0, Starkel 3-2-2-0, Muhs 1-0-0-0, Potucek 3-2-2-0, Wiard 0-0-0-0.




Buhler 15, Newton 2

Hays 16, Kansas Senators 1

Dodge City 6, SEK Drillers 2

Hutchinson 5, BC Cubs 4

Topeka Scrappers 14, Wichita Aviators 0

Great Bend 7, McPherson 5


Newton 12, Kansas Senators 5

Hays 7, Buhler 3

Hays 11, Newton 1

Buhler 12, Kansas Senators 6

BC Cubs 9, SEK Drillers 0

Hutchinson 14, Dodge City 1

Hutchinson 8, SEK Drillers 7

BC Cubs 6, Dodge City 0

Wichita Aviators 12, Great Bend 4

Topeka Scrappers 17, McPherson 5

Wichita Aviators 9, McPherson 8

Topeka Scrappers 13, Great Bend 3


Newton 9, SEK Drillers 5

Kansas Senators 9, McPherson 7

Wichita Aviators 8, Buhler 7

Great Bend 9, Dodge City 7

BC Cubs 11, Hays 6

Topeka Scrappers 12, Hutchinson 1

Topeka Scrappers 6, BC Cubs 4 (championship)