5 Bullpups earn All-State soccer honors

By Steve Sell
June 20, 2016

McPherson High’s Breckon Kaufman repeated as a first-team All-State soccer selection, which was announced last week.

Not only that, she was named the Class 4-1A Defensive Player of the Year.

She was joined on the All-State first team by teammates Aislinn Hughes, Alayna Wallace and Paige Schmidt.

Trinity Academy’s Ally Henderson was named Player of the Year and Miege’s Zoey Slettehaugh was Goalie of the Year. Miege’s Nate Huppe, whose team won the state title, was Coach of the Year. Miege edged McPherson 1-0 in the semifinals to advance to the title game.

Kaufman and Schmidt are seniors, while Wallace is a junior and Hughes is a sophomore.

Bullpup junior Heidi Myers was named to the second team.