Do You Know When Fireworks are Allowed in Your Town?

By Jolyn Johnston-Myers
June 29, 2016

As the 4th of July approaches, McPherson County residents are reminded to pay attention to what the rules are regarding fireworks and when they are allowed to be sold and set off within the different city limits.

In McPherson, fireworks are not allowed to be sold or used within city limits until July 2, and then only between the hours of 10:00 am and 10:30 pm, except for July 4 when fireworks can be set off until midnight.

In Lindsborg, residents can shoot off fireworks on July 4 only, starting at 8:00 am until midnight.

In Inman, fireworks are allowed beginning July 1 through July 5, from 9:00 am to 11:00 pm each day.

In Galva, fireworks are also allowed July 1 through July 5, beginning at 8 am until midnight each day. And in Canton, fireworks are allowed beginning July 1 until the 4th from 8 am to 11 pm.

In Moundridge, fireworks are allowed starting July 2 until July 5, from 8 am to 11:00 pm each day, except for the 4th when they’re allowed until midnight.

Windom’s city ordinance has the longest stretch in the county. Fireworks there are allowed beginning June 30 until July 6, from 9 am to midnight each day.

County residents are expected to clean up after themselves and properly dispose of firework debris by wetting them down before placing them in their trash cans or city waste receptacles.

Anyone with questions concerning fireworks and what’s allowed and what is not can contact the McPherson Fire Department at 620-245-2505.