NAIA announces Scholar-Teams

By Steve Sell
July 18, 2016

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The NAIA has announced the 1,585 teams that have earned the distinction of Scholar-Teams for the 2015-16 academic year. Missouri Baptist's women's golf team, which finished the year with an NAIA-best combined 3.95 grade point average, was selected as the Scholar-Team of the Year.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

McPherson College had two teams that earned the honor. The volleyball team had an amazing 3.51 grade point average while the women’s basketball team compiled a 3.26 mark. 

 Bethany College was represented by its softball team with a 3.10 GPA. Tabor led the KCAC as 16 of its teams earned the distinction, one more than Kansas Wesleyan.

The top four spots were given to women's golf teams from across the country, with Indiana Tech following Missouri Baptist with a 3.89 GPA, Governors State (Ill.) coming in third with 3.86, and Siena Heights (Mich.) placing fourth with a 3.84 GPA.

Concordia (Neb.) and Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) earned the distinction of having 20 teams make the list, the most out of all schools. Morningside (Iowa) and St. Ambrose (Iowa) were next with 19 coming, and three schools – including Taylor (Ind.), Biola (Calif.) and Bethel (Ind.) – all tied for fifth with 18 teams.