Bulldog netters dominate KCAC meet

By Steve Sell
September 24, 2016

ARKANSAS CITY — It turned into the McPherson Invitational for McPherson College’s women’s tennis team during the KCAC Fall Championships on Friday.

The Bulldogs won six of the nine flights to rule the field and finished second in two others.

Singles winners were Brittany Zipf at No. 1, Lea Striegel at No. 2, Besa Bwalya at No. 4 and Deiah Curtis at No. 6. In doubles, champs were Zipf and Bwalya at No. 2 and Curtis and Madison Hoffman at No. 3.

Hoffman at No. 5 singles and Zoe Bouwmeester at No. 3 were both second.

• MEN DOMINATE, TOO —  Even without No. 1 player Joan-Marc Fajula Rodriguez available, McPherson College’s tennis team dominated as well.

Winning their flights were Hector Carrillo Perales at No. 1 singles, Juan Alejandro Jimenez at No. 4 and Leandro Nix at No. 5. Nicholas Wahl and Timo Hoelzmann were the champions at No. 2 doubles.

Also placing high were Wahl and Hoelzmann at No. 2 and 3 singles, respectively, as they were second.