McPherson County Election Results, Canvassing Scheduled for Nov. 17

By Jolyn Johnston-Myers
November 09, 2016

Almost 75 percent of registered voters in McPherson County turned out for Tuesday’s election. That seems like a good percentage, but it’s still not as high as the previous three presidential election cycles, according to the McPherson County Clerk.

The McPherson County race for sheriff did go to Jerry Montagne, who secured about 82 percent of the vote. About 2,000 write-in votes were also tallied. Those will be canvassed later this month along with the 359 provisional votes cast in McPherson County.

Locally, Rick Wilborn beat out Levi Morris to hold onto the office of Kansas Senator for the 35th district, and Les Mason was reelected as Kansas Representative for the 73rd district. Jerry Moran was also reelected as United States Senator and Roger Marshall is the new Representative for the Kansas 1st District in the United States Congress.

The closest local race was between Steve Johnson and Kelley Menke for the 108th  district in the Kansas House of Representatives. Johnson edged out Menke by just 22 votes.

The 108th district includes the town of Lindsborg in McPherson County, all of Ellsworth County, and parts of Rice and Saline Counties.

The canvassing and official signing off for McPherson County’s provisional and write-in votes is scheduled for November 17.