Mac's Torres, Robbins on 1st team

By Steve Sell
November 09, 2016

McPherson College’s Nick Torres and Jared Robbins have been named to the All-KCAC Men’s Soccer First Team.

Torres is a senior from McPherson, while Robbins is a junior from Cotati, Calif.

Fernando Machado of Oklahoma Wesleyan University was unanimously selected as Most Valuable Player and Defensive Player of the Year, while teammates Markel Aznal, Nikola Fimic, and Luka Stojanovic were named Newcomer of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Goalie of the Year, respectively.

Leonardo Sosa of Friends was selected as Offensive Player of the Year, while Jamie Peterson of Oklahoma Wesleyan was unanimously selected as Coach of the Year.

Eight members of Oklahoma Wesleyan were picked to the 15-player first team. Kansas Wesleyan had three selections, while McPherson College and Friends had two apiece. No other schools had a first-team pick.

McPherson College’s David Mwinga was named to the second team, along with Frank Barry, Imran Lewis and Jose Sanchez of Bethany.

Bulldogs Chris Kelly, Jesus Pescador, Eddie Gomez, Tyler Minney and Kaonnye Opazo were honorable mention selections, as were Bethany’s Alex Clark, Jaiden Van Der Heijden and Andre Barbosa.