Mac's Steenson makes 1st team

By Steve Sell
November 14, 2016
McPherson College Sports Information

McPherson College’s Travis Steenson, who ranked in the Top 3 in the country in tackles nearly the entire season, was the lone Bulldog to be named to the All-KCAC football team announced on Monday.

Steenson made the team at linebacker. 

Meanwhile, Bethany College did not have any first-team picks.

Sterling's Cedrick Phillips was the unanimous selection as KCAC Player of the Year, while Offensive Player of the Year was shared by Jesse Rogers of Friends and TJ Brown of Sterling, who also won the Special Teams Player of the Year. 

Defensive Player of the Year honors go to Saint Mary's KyRandall Smith. 

Saint Mary’s Jay Osborne was named KCAC Coach of the Year. Bethany's Ali Shahryar is the Dr. Ted Kessinger Award recipient and Chase Hansen of Sterling was named Assistant Coach of the Year. 

McPherson College’s Ed Crouch and Tyrone Campbell made the second-team offense at quarterback and running back, respectively. Dalton Whitfield was a second-team pick at defensive end.

Bethany had three plays picked to the second-team offense — running back Nate Ocran, receiver Michael Wimberly and lineman Justin Burns. Rhett Mizer made the second team at defensive back. 

For Mac, honorable mention on offense were receiver Brandt Wolters and lineman Jaelon Barnes. Bulldogs on the HM defense were lineman Chandler Tisby, and defensive backs Michael Rabara, Kavoderic McIntyre and Braden Bush.

Swede honorable mention offensive picks were receivers Dalton Goodwin and Anthony Jackson. On defense the picks were lineman Darius Squire, linebackers Jau’mari Clark, Damien Bell-White and Bobby O’Neill, along with defensive back Javon Moore.

Here is the first team:

• Offense •

Bethel — Jalen Sykes, running back

Friends — Jesse Rogers, running back; Mitch Butterfield, line

Kansas Wesleyan — Mitch Kufahl, tight end; Ayrius Brown, lineman

Ottawa — Terrance Polk, receiver; Trae Boese, lineman

Sterling — Cedrick Phillips, quarterback; TJ Brown, receiver; Nathan Frame, receiver; Lars Lind, lineman; Denton Hudspeth, utility.

Tabor — Joe Donnell, running back; Spencer Baalman, lineman.

Saint Mary — Easton Ridley, running back.

• Defense •

Bethel — Nathan Booker, linebacker; Rickey Rodriguez, secondary

Friends — John Burke, lineman; Josh Lewis, linebacker

Kansas Wesleyan — Christian McQueen, lineman

McPherson College — Travis Steenson, linebacker

Ottawa — Vincent Wurst, lineman

Sterling — Tyus Williams, secondary

Tabor — Evan Sprayberry, lineman; Michael Griffin, secondary

Saint Mary — KyRandall Smith, Saint Mary; Kenny Nez, secondary

• Special Teams •

Sterling — TJ Brown, kick returner; Michael Winsted, place-kicker

Tabor — Charles Beale, punt returner

Saint Mary — Aiden Pirrin, punter