MC men, women netters picked to win KCAC

By Steve Sell
January 19, 2017

McPherson College has been picked to win both the men’s and women’s division in KCAC tennis this year as preseason polls were announced on Wednesday.

Both Mac teams made it to nationals last year, but have a first-year coach in Dustin Wheeler, who has taken over for Justin Stuckey.

The Bulldog men received 7 of the 9 first-place votes, with defending regular-season champion Bethany garnering the other two. McPherson College was the KCAC Tournament champion last year.

The rest of the order included Southwestern, Kansas Wesleyan, Tabor, Bethel, Ottawa, Friends and Oklahoma Wesleyan. Three KCAC schools — Saint Mary, York and Sterling — do not have tennis.

The Mac women received 8 of 9 first-place votes, with Ottawa receiving the other. Mac won both the regular-season and postseason tournament last year for the third straight time.

Southwestern is second, followed by Ottawa, Tabor, Kansas Wesleyan, Bethel, Friends, Bethany and Oklahoma Wesleyan.