8th A, B finish regular season undefeated

By Steve Sell
January 31, 2017

If you need a reason why McPherson High’s girls have been so successful in recent years, all you have to do is look at what the girls have done as eighth-graders under coach Jay Crawford as they are fundamentally ready when they get to the high school level.

For the fifth time in Crawford’s 11 years, the Bullpups completed a perfect regular season as Monday they routed Maize 50-14 to finish 13-0 and will be the favorite for the upcoming postseason tournament at Derby North.

Kassidy Beam rocked it with 5 3-pointers and scored 21 points to lead the Bullpups. Grace Pyle added 13 and Emma Malm furnished 11.

“The A-team just came out and hit them really hard with some great pressure defense and had some really solid traps and tonight our off side rotation was on point,” Crawford said. “So far we have not played a team that can get into their offense without problems and the style this team likes to play is the way I like to coach and we just want teams to have to wonder where the traps are coming from and see if they have more than one ballhandler.”

The domination of the team is evident by the fact it has given up only 17 points a game while scoring 48.

The B-team played one less game this season, but also finished with an undefeated 12-0 record after a 44-15 rout. Kenzee Godwin’s 14 points led the Bullpups.

“This group just keeps attacking and makes it difficult for teams to play at their pace,” Crawford said. “Great job all season pitching the ball ahead. Our defense all year has been very good and they learned over the season how to switch into different defensive sets I like to use. I was proud of how they could score consistently this season as well. They scored 541 points for a average of 45 points a game and only gave up 12 3-pointers for an average of 10 points per game. Our B-team held six out of 12 teams to single digits in games.”

MMS A (50) — Yowell 2, Berg 3, Malm 11, Pyle 13, Beam 21.

MMS B (44) — Schwartz 2, Malm 2, Pyle 3, Berg 6, Berlanga 8, Yowell 9, Godwin 14.