Bullpups sweep Division III basketball honors

By Steve Sell
March 12, 2017

McPherson High’s basketball teams dominated AVCTL Division III during the season, so naturally they dominated the postseason honors.

All five starters for both the girls and boys earned some type of mention as league honors have been announced.

MHS’ Taylor Robertson was named the girls’ Most Valuable Player and Chris Strathman was honored as Coach of the Year. Mandi Cooks joined Robertson on the first team.

Also on the first team were Carissa Beck and Kali Martin of Circle, Jordan Marlnee of Augusta and Sarah Hammer of Winfield.

McPherson’s Emma Yowell made the second team. She was joined by Caedyn Reinhardt of El Dorado, Abee Rhodes of Augusta, Raegan Galloway and Kelsie Kelly of Circle and Casey Cunday of Buhler.

MHS’ Riley Hett and Jordan Bruner were selected to the honorable mention team. They were joined by Maddison Livingston and Taylor Hinnenkamp of Augusta, Sidney Rowland of El Dorado, Sierra Salsman and Nicole Wallace of Winfield and Camron Perry of Circle.

The Bullpups’ Ben Pyle was the boys’ MVP and Kurt Kinnamon was Coach of the Year. Pyle was joined on the first team by teammate Mason Alexander.

Also on the first team were Tanner Lackey and Grant Owens of Augusta, Cal Hartley of Circle and Jonny Clausing of Augusta.

MHS’ Jake Alexander headlined the second team. He was joined by Cameron Straw of Circle, Chance Whitehead of Augusta, Matt Everett of Winfield, and Jarin Koehler and Tyler Michaelis of El Dorado.

Drew Labertew and Thomas Diggs of the Bullpups topped the honorable mention list. Others chosen were Easton Brown, Dylan Brown and Dalton Smyres of Buhler, Clay Westbrooks of Augusta, Jordan Mays of Winfield and Trevor Burnett of El Dorado.


• Girls •

McPherson, 10-0 (21-4)

Circle, 8-2 (21-4)

Augusta, 5-5 (11-10)

Winfield, 4-6 (9-11)

Buhler, 3-7 (3-17)

El Dorado, 0-10 (2-18)

• Boys •

McPherson, 10-0 (20-5)

Buhler, 8-2 (15-7)

Augusta, 6-4 (14-8)

Circle, 4-6 (8-14)

El Dorado, 2-8 (8-13)

Winfield, 0-10 (2-19)