Cap-Journal picks Robertson All-State All-Class 1st team; Pyle 2nd team

By Steve Sell
March 18, 2017
Cindy Kinnamon

Just like The Wichita Eagle, The Topeka Capital-Journal named McPherson High’s Taylor Robertson to its All-State All-Class girls first team, with Ben Pyle named to the boys’ second team.

Both also made Class 4A Division I first team.

Here are the McPherson and area schools’ honors:

• McPherson — Taylor Robertson, All-State All-Class girls 1st team, 4A Division I girls first team; Mandi Cooks, 4A Division I girls 3rd team; Ben Pyle, All-State All-Class boys 2nd team; 4A Division I boys 1st team; Mason Alexander, 4A Division I boys second team; Jake Alexander, 4A Division I boys honorable mention.

• Canton-Galva — Emma Ruddle, 2A honorable mention girls team.

• Elyria Christian — Tyler Thiessen, 1A Division II 3rd team boys; Aidan Fields, 1A Division II boys honorable mention.

• Hesston — Kailey Jo Ince, 3A girls 3rd team; Zach Vogt, 3A boys 3rd team; Zach Esau, 3A boys honorable mention.

• Inman — Payton Froese, 2A boys honorable mention.

• Little River — Clay Zeller, 1A Division I boys honorable mention; Melanie Renken, 1A Division I girls honorable mention.

• Moundridge — Noah Eichelberger, 2A boys honorable mention; Lexi Lorimor, 2A girls honorable mention; Bethany Stucky, 2A girls honorable mention.

• Smoky Valley — Nick Reinert, 4A Division II boys 2nd team; Brett Heitschmidt, 4A Division II boys honorable mention.