The Kansas Farm Bureau Announces Its 2017/2018 Scholarships

By KBBE News
April 18, 2017

Each year, the Kansas Farm Bureau (KFB) Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Thirty-six recipients have received $21,500 in scholarships for the 2017-18 school year.

Over the past decade, the foundation has awarded more than $275,000 in scholarships.

“Developing leaders for tomorrow requires an investment in today’s youth,” says KFB Foundations Director Harry A. Watts.

Wade Niermeier, Ellis County, is the winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr Miller Agriculture Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agronomy and conservation.

Another permanent, privately endowed fund known as the Lester Crandall Memorial Scholarship awarded $500 to Janae Schulte, Ellsworth County.

Tyler Marr, Jewell County, was awarded $1,000 for the Frank & Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship.

Jennifer Boley, Cloud County, was awarded $500 for the DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship.

Two students were awarded scholarships to Kansas technical colleges. They include Bailey Bixenman, Sheridan County, and Kaleb Schartz, Barton County.

Four $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University’s college of agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. They include: Shaylee Arpin, Riley County; Sam Davis, Greenwood County; Quentin Haas, Allen County; and Leah Parsons, Finney County.

Two $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Nickalous Baxa, Cloud County, and Jacob Brubaker, Cheyenne County.

Twenty-four recipients received $500 scholarships. These students are attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate chapter. Students must be a Farm Bureau Collegiate member.

Recipients include:

Allen Community College

·       Caleb Powelson, Anderson County

Butler Community College

·       Addison Gauthier, Butler County

·       Leah Metzger, Butler County

·       Tara Varner, Butler County

Fort Hays State University

·       Rebecca Butler, Sheridan County

·       Brianna Stefan, Clark County

Fort Scott Community College

·       Hannah Craun, Bourbon County

·       Miles Hamilton, Benton County, Ark.

·       Jessie Hobbs, Miami County

·       Trenton Jahay, Barber County

·       Adam Lattin, Montgomery County

·       Allie Martin, Bourbon County

·       Matthew Schick, Bourbon County

Hutchinson Community College

·       Caitlin Dreher, Allen County

Kansas State University

·       Janet Attanasio, Riley County

·       Rachel Bellar, Elk County

·       Taylor Brenner, Kit Carson County, Colo.

·       Taylor DeWeese, Pratt County

·       Trent Frye, Republic County

·       Andrew Phipps, Chase County

·       Leah Scholz, Atchison County

·       Kristin Stiebe, Pawnee County

Pratt Community College

·       Savannah Pryor, Harvey County

Seward County Community College

·       Andrea Wagner, Haskell County