KCAC honors 7 softball Bulldogs

By Steve Sell
May 05, 2017

McPherson College’s remarkable turnaround softball season was not lost on the other coaches in the conference.

A total of seven Bulldogs earned some type of mention today when the All-KCAC teams were announced. Mac went from 9-39 last year to 25-23 this season.

Mac’s Kortney Jones and Chelsea Conrad were picked to the first team. Bethany’s Emma Wager also made the first team.

Mac players making the second team were Christie Betker and Jessica Jones. 

The Bulldogs’ Katie Holmes, Judith Salazar and Ali Smith were honorable mention. Bethany was represented by Alyssa Montoya and Deanna Van Poucke.

Ottawa was the regular-season champion, ending the season with a 34-15 overall record and an 18-4 conference record, earning head coach Jay Kahnt KCAC Coach of the Year honors. 

Michaela Shouldis of Oklahoma Wesleyan University earned the KCAC Player of the Year award following a regular season where she hit a conference-leading .466 with 75 hits, 47 runs, four doubles and two home runs. Molli Morgan of Ottawa University earned KCAC Pitcher of the Year, Lacey Hudson of Friends was named Newcomer of the Year and Tabor Bluejay Madison Byrd is the 2017 Freshman of the Year.