10U team wins Summer Slam title

By Steve Sell
June 21, 2017
Contributed Photo

The McPherson 10U baseball team has been on fire.

It won the recent McPherson Summer Slam Tournament after a sluggish 0-1-1 start, which included a 9-9 tie with Wamego and 4-1 loss to Abilene.

That made the team just a No. 5 seed in bracket play, but that seemed to light a fire under it. It won its final three games.

• 10-5 win over the Junction City Bengals. Brenden Doile went four innings for the win, with Owen Fetsch garnering the save.

• 8-5 win over the No. 1-seed Wichita Tigers. Fetsch hurled three innings, with Brock Richardson, Ross Burrill and Carter Allen finishing up, with Allen gaining a save.

• 12-11 victory over No. 2-seed Abilene. Allen, Jase Fitzmorris, Ian Razak and Doile took turns with Doile getting a save.

Razak had two triples on the weekend and Fitzmorris added one. Doubles were recorded by Lincoln Koehn, Brody Seidl, Hayden Hoxie and Doile. 

The complete roster included Carter Allen, Grady Bearley, Ross Burrill, Brenden Doile, Owen Fetsch, Jase Fitzmorris, Hayden Hoxie, Daniel Jennings, Lincoln Koehn, Ian Razak, Brock Richardson and Brody Seidl.