Fawl favored in City Golf Tournament

By Steve Sell
June 23, 2017

There will be a new champion in the 34th annual McPherson City Golf Tournament that begins today.

Jacob Lackey, who won last year’s tournament in dramatic fashion as he eagled the 18th hole for a one-shot win over Treg Fawl, is competing this weekend in the Kansas Railer Open Stroke Play Tournament in Newton.

Fawl, who had won five straight years before his streak was interrupted last year by Lackey, is the heavy favorite this year, though he’ll come into the tournament perhaps somewhat distracted as he and his wife, Molli, welcomed their first child earlier this week.

Players to watch include Collin Duckworth, Kelly Sorenson and Chris Stucky. Duckworth is a Central Christian College standout who is capable of going low. Sorenson has been red-hot in recent outings and Stucky has been a Top-3 finisher the last couple of years.

The two-man division is expected to be wide open, with Fawl and his father, Tony, as the team to beat. They have won four two-man titles in the past.

The tournament began today at Turkey Creek, with Saturday’s round at Rolling Acres and the finale Sunday at McPherson Country Club.

Here are Saturday’s pairings, with Sunday’s pairings to be determined by the results of the first two rounds.

• At Rolling Acres •

• 9:00 •

No. 1 — Treg Fawl, Tony Fawl, Mark Gayer, Doug Gayer

No. 1B — Mark Wash, Kurt Kinnamon, Cliff Hawkes, Steve Sell

No. 2 — Mat Anderson, Ron Hamilton, Jacob Morales, Tyler Habiger

No. 3 — Zac Hoppes, Matt Sandbo, Ben Cheek, Casey Cheek

No. 4 — Gary Hess, Bill Gately, Jay Reissig, Scott Davis

No. 5 — Jamie Piper, Ryan Schmid, Jason Buschbom, Chris Stucky

No. 6 A — Gordon Reimer, Dennis Shaw, Kevin McKean, Glenn Snell

No. 6B — Tim Schmidt, Kent Schmidt, Jeff Warren, Rick Davison

No. 7 — Ed Bate, Jason Shober, Derek Burgan, Brian Bengtson

No. 8 — Kelly Sorenson, Alan Porter, Luke Aichele, Kenan Warren

No. 9 — Kyle Moody, Kelly Blomberg, Zack Lock, Daniel Mitchell 

• 1:30 •

No. 1 — Brad Malm, Kenny Malm, Leland DeWild, Colby Geren

No. 2 — Brad Geren, Al Geren, Colten Geren, Kyler Hoppes

No. 4 — David Blosser, Dylan Blosser, Vaughan Burch, Travis Burch

No. 6 — Eric VanCampen, Jeff Clark, Kaden Warren, Alan Weis

No. 8 — Ryne Davison, Bryan Weiser, Brooks Walsh, Nick Torres

No. 9 — Mike Ruddle, Gus Ruddle, Collin Duckworth, Trehern McGill