Vote now and often for Bullpups in Catchy Awards

By Steve Sell
June 29, 2017

It’s time for McPherson High sports fans to get on the stick and vote.

Voting for the annual “Catchy” awards by  has reached the halfway point and while McPherson High has some leaders, it also has some athletes who are trailing in the voting.

Go to the website and vote as many times as you wish and show your Bullpup pride.

The MHS girls state championship doubles team of Ellea Ediger and Rachel Ivers are leading the Best Girls Tennis Player/Doubles division. They have only a 2 percent lead, however, over Wichita Independent singles star Anna Riedmiller.

Also leading is Mya Kretzer in the voting for top female wrestler. Again the margin is slight, less than a percentage point over Clearwater’s Lyric Gonsalves.

The third Bullpup leader is the state champion boys tennis doubles team of Nolan Schrader and Kaden Stewart. They have a healthy 6 percent lead over Carroll singles star Rodney Steven.

Two McPherson basketball players currently sit in second place in the voting. MHS’ Ben Pyle is 10 percentage points behind Goddard Eisenhower’s Matt Pile, while Taylor Robertson is 2 percentage points behind Maize’s Taylor Holmes.

Hesston High is up for honors in two categories, one of which it’s first and the other it’s in last.

The Swather football team is No. 1 for Class 3A Team of the Year and has 27.8 percent of the vote, just ahead of the 26.7 by the Wichita Independent baseball team.

In Story of the Year, Hesston starting 1-3 in football before coming back to make the state championship game has received 12 percent of the vote. El Dorado wrestler Dacota Motta has just under 50 percent of the vote, the highest in any category.