14U Express wins softball title

By Steve Sell
July 03, 2017

Front row: coach Christy Doile, Maliya Paine, Ashlon Stanford, Holli Giddings, Olivia Morgan, Brette Doile, Megan Everhart. Back row:  coach Brent Pelzel, coach Brandon Giddings, Alexa Burch, Cameron Pelzel, Katie Dix, Bri Russell, Heidi Allen, Sally Boese, Jacie Myers, coach Lacey Morgan. 

GREAT BEND — McPherson’s 14U Lady Express were the iron women of the one-day, four-game Quicksilver Invitational Softball Tournament by going undefeated to win the championship.

“This was probably our best ball of the season as the girls made several spectacular plays throughout the day,” McPherson coach Lacey Morgan said. “They stayed mentally tough all day and did a great job of supporting each other every inning. Game 1 was just a great battle between two pretty even teams, Game 2 was highlighted by a great double play to end the game. Game 3 was highlighted by a Bri Russell over-the-fence three-run home run. Game 4 saw us go into extra innings, the girls showed how much they wanted to win putting up seven runs and then playing great defense with another double play to end the game. I'm very proud of how much each girl improved this season and the great teammates they are to one another.”

• McPherson 4, Pratt 3 — The Express held off a Pratt rally for the narrow victory. Holli Giddings had two hits and two RBIs to lead the way. Jacie Myers added two hits. Brett Doile was the winner, fanning four.

• McPherson 9, Quicksilver Blue 4 — Cameron Pelzel drove in three runs and had two hits. Also with two hits was Alexa Burch. Megan Everhart was the winner and Russell notched the save.

• McPherson 14, Pratt 12 — Pratt scored seven runs in the first, but McPherson later answered with 10 in the third in a wild contest. Burch knocked in three as did Russell, while Myers added two RBIs. Doile held it together after a slow start for the win.

• McPherson 10, DC Explosion 3 — A seven-run fourth tipped the scales in McPherson’s favor as it collected 12 hits, two each by Everhart, Olivia Morgan and Sally Boese. Russell was the winner and Doile cleaned up the last inning.