Country Club retains McPherson Cup

By Steve Sell
September 18, 2017

The McPherson Cup is going to remain on the mantel at McPherson Country Club for a third straight year.

After the first decade of the event where Turkey Creek dominated the annual golf matches for a 7-3 lead, the pendulum has swung the other way as MCC is now 2-0-1 in the last three years, with the record upped on Sunday when it completed an 18-14 victory.

The Country Club, which retained the Cup last year after a 16-16 draw because it was the defending champion, got off to a 9 1/2-6 1/2 lead after Saturday’s team matches, which included 2 points a match as there was nine holes of alternate shot, followed by nine holes of low ball. 

The 16 singles matches on Sunday were highly competitive, with MCC coming away with an 8 1/2-7 1/2 victory.

The series now stands at 7-5-1 with Turkey Creek in the lead and it will try to get the Cup back next year when it hosts the event.

• Results •

• Team Matches •

• Scratch •

Kelly Sorenson-Alan Porter (TC) def. Ted Morris-Jeff Warren (MCC), 1 1/2-1/2

Cliff Hawkes-Gary Hess (TC) drew with Rick Davison-Kent Schmidt (MCC), 1-1

Tim Schmidt-Brian Bengtson (MCC) def. Jamie Piper-Mark Wash (TC), 2-0

Treg Fawl-Kurt Kinnamon (TC) def. Kenan Warren-Luke Aichele (MCC), 1 1/2-1/2

• Handicap •

Chad Alexander-Jay Reissig (TC) drew with Greg Jermark-Kenny Malm (MCC), 1-1

Larry Bruce-Terry Malm (MCC) def. Tom Goldsmith-Bill Gately (TC) 1 1/2-1/2

Zac Hoppes-Larry Kavouras (MCC) def. Dennis Shaw-Gordon Reimer (TC) 2-0

Tony Fawl-John Grosdider (TC) drew with Rick Anderson-Dennis Houghton (MCC), 1-1

• Singles Matches •

• Scratch •

Kelly Sorenson (TC) def. Brian Bengtson (MCC), 3 & 2

Gary Hess (TC) and Jeff Warren (MCC) halved

Alan Porter (TC) def. Rick Davison (MCC), 1-up

Cliff Hawkes (TC) def. Ed Bate, 2-up

Steve Sell (TC) def. Brad Bengtson (MCC), 2-up

Kurt Kinnamon (TC) and Kent Schmidt (MCC) halved

Treg Fawl (TC) def. Tim Schmidt (MCC), 1-up

Luke Aichele (MCC) def. Jamie Piper (TC), 4 & 3

• Handicap •

Russ Hefner (MCC) def. Jason Buschbom (TC), 1-up

Jay Reissig (TC) def. Keith Ferguson (MCC), 4 & 3

Brad Geren (MCC) def. Lenny Swaim (TC), 3 & 1

Bill Ferguson (MCC) def. Jerry Grant (TC), 5 & 4

Terry Malm (MCC) def. Mark Wash (TC), 7 & 6

Larry Bruce (MCC) def. Zack Lock (TC), 8 & 7

Tim Karstetter (MCC) def. Dennis Shaw (TC), 8 & 7

Gordon Reimer (TC) halved with Leland DeWild (MCC)