MHS netters take 2nd, 3rd in tourneys

By Steve Sell
October 03, 2017

What a busy stretch of days it’s been for the McPherson High girls tennis team.

On Saturday the Bullpups hosted their second of two invitationals and took second place.

MHS was strong in doubles with Maisie Edmonson and Taylor Bruce making the finals before taking second place with a 3-1 record. Madison Schmidt and Ashley Achilles were 2-2 for sixth.

Edmonson and Bruce lost 8-4 in the finals to Quinn Rhodes and Rai Normai of Newton.

CeAnna Allen was 2-2 for 10th in singles, with Rachel Carlson 2-2 for 13th. Hutchinson’s Raegan Wessel was the champion by outlasting Blue Valley Southwest’s Maddison Fischer 8-5 in the title match.

Cheyann Williams was an extra player for MHS in singles and took 19th with a 2-2 record.

“We are starting to play the big points better and are handling our emotions and decision making better in big moments,” MHS coach Tyler Brown said. 

Tourney newcomer Blue Valley Southwest captured the title with 70 points, with MHS taking second with 61.

Other scores were Salina South (58), Hutchinson (54), Garden City (51), Derby (49), Campus (44), Newton (34), Hays (30), Great Bend (23), Elyria Christian (18) and Liberal (6).

On Monday, the Bullpups competed in the AVCTL Division III-IV Tournament at Wichita and placed third.

Edmonson and Bruce had another good day, going 2-1 and taking second in the No. 1 division. Achilles and Williams were third at No. 2, going 2-1.

In singles, Allen played No. 1 and was 2-1 for fifth, while Carlson was 1-2 at No. 2 for fourth.

“Felt like today was a solid day, it truly got us ready regionals,” Brown said. “Our league has so many great teams don't be surprised when a few of them take home some team hardware at state. I felt all our girls got better today and we will be ready for Friday and Saturday in Lindsborg.”

No. 1-ranked Wichita Collegiate, which won three of the four divisions, won the team title with 68 points, while Wellington was second with 53. MHS took third with 49.

Other scores were Circle (45), Winfield (35), Buhler (22), El Dorado (12) and Augusta (0).