Barrett, Doile nab top D-III volleyball honors

By Steve Sell
November 07, 2017
Kendall Shaw

McPherson High’s Elle Barrett was named AVCTL Division III Volleyball Player of the Year and Christy Doile was tabbed Coach of the Year as league honors were announced today.

Barrett was joined on the first team by teammates Jaycee Burghart and Andrea Sweat.

Also on the first team were Faith Kretzer of Buhler, Jessie Nibarger and Shelby Reeder of Circle and Sydney Scanlon of El Dorado.

Doile was tabbed top coach after the Bullpups blew through Division III unscathed with a 10-0 record and the team was 35-6 overall.

MHS’ Michaela Bowers and Cassie Cooks were picked to the second team. Others chosen were Jadyn Jackson and Maddie Livingston of Augusta, Carley Clennan and Lexee Hughey of El Dorado and Olivia Phillips of Winfield.

MHS did not have any players on the honorable mention team. Those honored were Mattie McLean and Hannah Engelland of Buhler, Brennan Patty, Camron Perry and Mallory Cowman of Circle, MaKenzie Kirk and Kylie McDaniel of Augusta, Channing Kimble of El Dorado, and Taylor Byerly and Isabella Hunt of Winfield.


1. McPherson, 10-0 (35-6)

2. Circle, 7-3 (21-16)

3. Augusta, 5-5 (17-19)

4. Buhler, 3-7 (20-22)

4. El Dorado, 3-7 (20-22)

6. Winfield, 1-9 (3-33)