Bulldog men well represented on KCAC soccer team

By Steve Sell
November 08, 2017

WICHITA — Three McPherson College Bulldogs have been selected to the All-KCAC men’s soccer first team announced today.

Chris Kelly, Eddie Gomez and Erik Espinoza were all chosen to the elite team. Espinoza also was picked as Newcomer of the Year.

The Bulldogs will be playing for the KCAC Postseason Tournament championship on Friday in Bartlesville, Okla., against Oklahoma Wesleyan.

The 13-member team was dominated by conference champion Oklahoma Wesleyan, which had nine selections, five of them hailing from Serbia. Other than the three Bulldogs, the only other school represented was Ottawa with one selection.

Alberto Picchi of Oklahoma Wesleyan University was unanimously selected as Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year, while teammates Nikola Fimic, Stefan Lukic, and Dusan Djordjev were named Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Goalie of the Year, respectively. Jamie Peterson of Oklahoma Wesleyan was selected as Coach of the Year for the third consecutive year.

McPherson College’s Greg Roller, Aaron McCready and Kaonnye Opazo were picked to the second team, along with Bethany’s Melvin Akingboye.

The Bulldogs’ Jared Robbins made honorable mention.