Armstrong tabbed MVP, Adrian top coach

By Steve Sell
November 09, 2017
Kendall Shaw

McPherson High’s Darrius Armstrong was tabbed AVCTL Most Valuable Player and the Bullpups’ Chris Adrian was selected Coach of the Year as Division III-IV soccer selections were voted on this week.

Armstrong also headlined the first team and was joined by teammates Devin Cape, Britton Haigh, Drew Schrader and Trenton Stecklein.

Nathan Lloyd, Jael Jaime and Connor Williams made the second team, while Tyler Hoxie, Samie Jaime and Austin Monroe were honorable mention.

The Bullpups took second in the league to Buhler, but then defeated the Crusaders to make state and wound up taking third place.


Forwards — Darrius Armstrong, McPherson; Caden Dinkel, Rose Hill; Cooper Allen, Buhler; Cody Ely, Buhler.

Midfielders — Britton Haigh, McPherson; Drew Schrader, McPherson; Kameron Knowles, Winfield; Cade Taylor, Buhler.

Defense — Devin Cape, McPherson; Trenton Stecklein, McPherson, Lathe Cobb, Rose Hill; Kaden Quint, Buhler.

Goalie — Trystan Speiss, Rose Hill.


Forwards — Jael Jaime, McPherson; Connor Williams, McPherson; Gavin Carson, Circle; Traiton Suttles, Winfield.

Midfielders — Alec Wikerson, Circle, Payton Sadowski, El Dorado; Peyton Austin, Rose Hill; Tanner Williams, Rose Hill.

Defense — Nathan Todd, Circle; Daniel Doell, Augusta; Drake Hill, Winfield; Neil Case, Buhler.

Goalie — Nathan Lloyd, McPherson.


Forwards — Andrew Mason, Mulvane; Chayton Pfannenstiel, Mulvane; Logan Ward, Circle; Ethan Anderson, Rose Hill; Quentin Clapp, Buhler.

Midfielders — Josh Miller, Mulvane; Tyler Hoxie, McPherson; Samie Jaime, McPherson; Brayden Ketley, Circle; Anthony Orocio, Augusta; Noah Shannon, El Dorado; Austin Dorrell, El Dorado; Garrett Guinn, Rose Hill; Jarrett Grier, Rose Hill; Jesus Ramirez, Winfield; Trae Andreae, Winfield; Drake Dick, Buhler; Jaden Willm, Buhler.

Defense — Caden Webb, Mulvane; Austin Monroe, McPherson; Gage Storm, Circle; James Korth, El Dorado; Brian Firebaugh, Rose Hill; Zeb Bradley, Rose Hill; Garrett Martin, Winfield; Camrinen Engelken, Buhler; Carter Engelken, Buhler.

Goalie — Jace Burdick, Mulvane; Caleb Paige; Circle; Evan VanArsdale, no team listed; Collin Severud, Buhler.