Mac's Barnes, Goodmiller make KCAC first team

By Steve Sell
November 13, 2017

WICHITA — McPherson College’s Jaelon Barnes and Jackson Goodmiller, along with Bethany’s Michael Wimberly, were named today to the All-KCAC football first team.

Barnes was a unanimous pick at offensive line and Goodmiller was picked as a wide receiver, as was Wimberly.

Sterling’s Chuck Lambert was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Tabor defensive lineman Evan Sprayberry is the 2017 KCAC Player of the Year, while Offensive Player of the Year was awarded to Darryl Terrell of Sterling. Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Tim Hamilton of Friends, Southwestern's Mario Esparza took home the Special Teams Player of the Year award, Kansas Wesleyan's Christian McQueen was the Dr. Ted Kessinger award recipient and Kansas Wesleyan’s John Michaletti has been named Assistant Coach of the Year. 

Here are the first team picks:

• Friends — Mitch Butterfield, OL; Tim Hamilton, DL; Josh Lewis LB; Mackenzie Evans, DB.

• Bethany — Michael Wimberly, WR.

• Kansas Wesleyan — Demarco Prewitt, FB; Trenton Poe-Evans, WR; Aryrius Brown, OL; Christian McQueen, DL; Garrett Updegraft, LB

• McPherson College — Jackson Goodmiller, WR; Jaelon Barnes, OL.

• Ottawa — James Reeder, RB.

• Southwestern — Mario Esparza, P/K.

• Sterling — Aaron Chisholm, RB; Darryl Terrell, WR; Rigo Guzman, OL; Swain Williams, LB; Tomunci Whitfield, DB; Maurice Rucker, KR.

• Tabor —  Curry Parham, QB; Drevion Cooper, RB; Zack Johnson, WR and Utility; Spencer Baalman, OL; Evan Sprayberry, DL; Brad Kistner, LB; Charles Beale, KR; Sean Kelly DB .

McPherson College had no second-team picks, but honorable mention selections were Tyrone Campbell (RB), Desmond Anderson (WR), Brandt Wolters (WR), Eman McNeal (WR), Logan Anderson (OL), Charles Tisby (DL), Isaiah Hill (DL), Thomas Lanktree (LB), Alwin Crawford (DB), Joey Hale (DL), Chandler Tisby (DL), Jack Reid (PK) and Ashton Serpas (DB).

Bethany second-team picks were Jafar Thomas (RB), Justin Burns (OL), Jau’Mari Clark (LB), Rhett Mizer (DB) and Michael Wimberly (PR)

Honorable mention for the Swedes were Justin Dankert (FB), Rodney Molette (WR), Mike Milbourne (WR), Dalton Goodwin (WR), Ali Shahyar (OL), Hunter Coronel (OL), Jared Bader (DL), Dhari Gray (DL), Javan Moore (DB), Chris Owens (DB) and Dominic Dalmaso (DB).