MHS wrestlers honor mentor by routing Circle

By Steve Sell
January 05, 2018

Before McPherson High’s wrestling dual with Circle here Thursday, Bullpup coach Doug Kretzer asked his team how many got their start in the sport under the tutelage of Lance Engel.

“We had a show of hands before the dual tonight, who all has wrestled for the club (MAC Wrestling Club) and about 80 percent of them went up,” Kretzer said. “Most of the ones that didn’t go up were girls that are first-year wrestlers this year and or they would have been there. He has always been a big proponent of the girls. He has stuck his neck out there for 20 years on the girls side. He has fought and scratched to bring the girls state tournament to McPherson.”

The Bullpups honored Engel for his 30 years of service and they made their original mentor proud by pounding Circle 68-6, losing just one match on Senior Night.

“The seniors and Lance, those were the two things that were really special to me tonight,” Kretzer said. “We had a couple of seniors who didn’t get a match (because Circle was open at those weights) and that was disappointing.”

Circle was open at five weights as MHS improved to 11-1 in duals. “I wish the teams we wrestle could fill their weights,” Kretzer said. “You work hard and you want to be on the mat. But that (making weight and filling all divisions) is part of it.”

MHS tore through the T-Birds mostly with falls and technical falls. In fact, there was only one match that was won by a decision.

The highlight of the night was a 12-second pin by Luke Thompson at 182.

Both the MHS boys and girls compete on Saturday in Burlington and Kretzer said he’s excited about both divisions. The boys were second in the tourney last year and will be chasing the host school, which is a traditional power. And Kretzer is excited that team scores will be kept on the girls’ side, with MHS the favorite.

• Results •

106 — Mya Kretzer won by forfeit

113 — Landon Crews won by a fall over Demo

120 — Rhett Edmonson won by a technical fall over Perez

126 — EJ Kretzer won by forfeit

132 — Double forfeit

138 — Brynton Crews won by a fall over Schrader

145 — Garrett Rausch won by a fall over Farmer

152 — Scott Radke won by a fall over Closett

160 — Ian Alumbaugh lost by a fall to Clark

170 — Mason Thrash won by forfeit

182 — Luke Thompson won by a fall over Moore

195 — Bailey Yarborough won by forfeit

220 — Kourtney Craig dec. Fugate 6-2

285 — Donavon Bailey won by forfeit

• JV •

152 — Neill Raymond won by a fall

152 — Nate Rogers lost by a fall

152 — Jason Schowengerdt won by a fall

152 — Sierra Nigh lost by a fall