LEAGUE CHAMPS! MHS wrestlers take title

By Steve Sell
February 09, 2018

WINFIELD — A year ago, the Winfield Vikings won the AVCTL Division III wrestling championship on McPherson High’s home mat to set off a wild celebration.

After Thursday, consider the Bullpups even.

In the match to again determine the league champion, MHS came away with a 40-27 victory over the Vikings on their home mat to complete a 5-0 run through the league.

This is only the second time MHS has won a league title, the other coming in 2004.

For good measure in the triangular, the Bullpups came off their cloud to defeat Wellington 55-17 to finish the dual season with a 15-1 record.

“I’m really proud of the kids,” MHS coach Doug Kretzer said. “The last two seasons we have had a shot at the league title, but lost the last dual of the season. It’s great to finally get over the hump and earn that title.”

The match turned early when MHS 113-pounder Landon Crews upset No. 4-ranked Chris Ray 4-3.

“That victory really energized our team,” Kretzer said.

The Bullpups were up only 28-27 with three matches to go, but Bailey Yarborough, Kourtney Craig and Wayne Hitt were the closers. Yarborough won his match by a fall, Craig was a 5-3 winner and Hitt won 2-1 as MHS finished the night on a 12-0 run.

“Yarborough’s fall was a match both teams knew they needed, getting the fall was a big key to sealing the deal,” Kretzer said. “Everyone on the team wrestled with passion and intensity. It was a total team effort. This is as good of a dual team from top to bottom that we’ve had in the 22 years of coaching at MHS. Our JV wrestlers are tremendous, they’ve pushed the varsity in the practice room all season. Multiple times we’ve had to slide a backup into the lineup. Every time they’ve answered the call. We’re going to enjoy this through the weekend, and then we’ll focus on the Regional tournament that starts next Friday.”

One other turning point was at 132, where Kretzer said Seth Morgan won “a wild match” that was a 12-point swing as Morgan won 6 points in a match he could as easily lost 6 points.

MHS had no trouble with Wellington, which gifted MHS 30 points due to forfeits.

Here are the scores, with matches against Wellington listed first:

106 — Hannah Moore — lost by a fall; won by forfeit

113 — Landon Crews — won 4-3; won by forfeit

120 — Rhett Edmonson — won by a fall

120 — Mya Kretzer — won by forfeit

126 — EJ Kretzer — lost 7-4 

126 — Rhett Edmonson — won 13-1

132 — Seth Morgan — won by a fall; won 6-4

138 — Brynton Crews — won by a technical fall; won by a fall

145 — Jonah Clarke — lost by a fall; won by a fall

152 — Scott Radke — won 12-1

152 — Neill Raymond — won by a fall

160 — Ian Alumbaugh — lost by a fall

160 — Taylor Engel — won by forfeit

170 — Mason Thrash — won 9-1

170 — Ian Alumbaugh, won by a fall

182 — Dylan Rinker — lost by a fall; lost by a technical fall

195 — Bailey Yarborough won by a fall; lost 5-3

220 — Kourney Craig — won 5-3

220 — Jonah Scott — lost 2-1

285 — Wayne Hitt — won 2-1; lost by a fall

• JV •

113 — Jaedon Bratcher — won 6-1; won 2-1

120 — Kaleigh Marbut — won by a fall

132 — Petrona Tomas — lost by a fall

138 — Tristan Prater — won 6-4

138 — Haley Schafer — lost by a fall

145 — Neill Raymond — won by a fall

145 — Jason Schowengerdt — lost by a fall

145 — Nate Rogers — lost by a fall

160 — Taylor Engel — lost by a fall; lost by a fall

182 — Madison Skytte — lost by a fall; lost by a fall

220 — Lane Thompson — won 2-1; lost by a fall

220 — Jonah Scott — won by a fall

285 — Donavon Bailey — lost by a fall