Bulldogs rake in KCAC softball honors

By Steve Sell
May 04, 2018

McPherson College’s softball team did quite well when the KCAC handed out its annual awards on Thursday.

Mac pitcher Christie Betker and outfielder Jessica Jones were unanimous selections to the first team. 

Catcher Jenna Christensen was selected second-team status. Honorable mention for the Bulldogs were third baseman Kylecia Taylor, designated player Taylor Perez and outfielder Chelsea Conrad.

Betker and second baseman Taylor Hires-Caulk were selected to the Gold Glove team for their fielding.

Oklahoma Wesleyan’s Ashley Stone was named the KCAC MVP and the Freshman of the Year. Tabor’s Madison Byrd was Pitcher of the Year and Friends’ Breanna Vogts was Newcomer of the Year. Suzanne Unruh of Tabor was Coach of the Year.

Bethany’s Ciera Flores was named to the second team. Swedes earning honorable mention were Elizabeth Endsley and Shannon Williams. Williams also earned a Gold Glove for her outfield play.