Strong showing by SV harriers

By Steve Sell
October 03, 2018

ELLSWORTH — Smoky Valley’s boys won the championship of the Ellsworth Invitational Cross Country Meet on Tuesday, while the Viking girls took second.

The Vikings are gearing up for 3A competition after spending recent years as one of the smallest Class 4A schools. This also was the last competition before the CKL meet next week.

The Smoky boys had three runners in the Top 10, including Ryan Heline (2nd), Josh Peterson (3rd) and Stephen Peterson (9th). Ty Miller also medaled as he was 13th.

Maria Apel, Gracie Lott and Kajsa Peterson medaled for the Viking girls.

“The Vikes ran their tails off today for a first-place finish for the boys and a second-place finish for the girls,” Smoky Valley coach Holly Toll said. “We are still running without a couple of our Top 5 on the girls side, so I'm anxious to get everyone back healthy for league next week. We will be looking to get even faster before compete next week."

 * — medaled


• Team Place-2nd •

Maria Apel-10th-25:06*

Gracie Lott-12th-25:10*

Kajsa Peterson-13th-25:18*

Savannah Phillips-16th-26:01

Lydia Peterson-28th-28:12

Zoe Grace-1st JV-29:10*

Nevada Acheson-4th JV-29:57*

• BOYS •

• Team Place-1st •

Ryan Heline-2nd-18:26*

Josh Peterson-3rd –19:00*

Stephen Peterson-9th-19:40*

Ty Miller-13th-19:52*

Garret Huffman-23rd-20:45

Lukas Apel-25th-20:49

Trayton Miller-28th-21:11

Logan Bodenhamer-3rd JV-21:38*

Justice Gardner-4th JV-21:47*

Julian Maldonado-8th JV-22:41*

Adin Replogle-9th JV-22:41*

Caden Kibler-11th JV-22:51

Cole Brumbaugh-17th JV-23:28

Jonathan Puppo-18th JV-23:37

Jamison Sattler-28th JV-25:02

Devon VanFosson-31st JV-25:21

Kellon Johnsen-35th JV-25:46

Joseph Hunsecker-36th JV-26:10

• 8th GRADE •


Olivia Bengtson-4th-15:58*

• BOYS •

Trevor Jones-4th-13:48*

Drew Jones-14th-15:18

Brance Haiden-16th-16:02

• 7th GRADE •


Kenzie Heline-1st-16:11*

Abby Aguilar-10th-19:34*

Jazmyn High-12th-20:34

Ashlyn Cornett-13th-21:04

• BOYS—2nd •

Nolan Moore-9th-15:06*

Ryen Tinkler-10th-15:20*

Samuel Peterson-11th-15:26

Brayden Eyer-12th-15:57

Jordan Bodenhamer-28th-19:56

Immanuel Cooper-29th-20:39