Bulldogs dominate KCAC volleyball honors

By Steve Sell
November 09, 2018

As you might expect, McPherson College’s volleyball team dominated the KCAC postseason honors announced on Thursday just as it dominated the regular season when it ran the table by going 12-0 and rolling up a stunning 30-1 overall mark.

Lexi Kite was named Player of the Year, Jamie Siess was tabbed Libero of the Year and Jessica Cleveland was named Coach of the Year as she has led three straight record-breaking seasons for the Bulldogs. Cleveland’s assistant coach, Katie Neira, shared Assistant Coach of the Year honors with Tamara Heitschmidt of Sterling.

Kite was joined on the first team by Siess and Leia Seiler. 

Former Kansas State basketball star Shaelyn Martin, who played her graduate year at Kansas Wesleyan in a different sport, was the Defender of the Year and Ottawa’s Morgan Berry was Freshman of the Year.

Other first-team honors went to Berry, Kenna Hall and Ayona Tharps of Ottawa; Martin and Kortney Cunningham of Kansas Wesleyan, Alexandra Reid of Sterling, Cody Offerle of Saint Mary, Jana Boston of Friends and Cababrean Baumann of Southwestern.

Mac’s Devrie Sombers and Bree Wallace were on the second team, along with Bethany’s Jordan Valentine. Mac’s Riley Bradbury was a third-team selection.

The Bulldogs are competing in the KCAC Postseason Tournament today and play at 5:00 against the Tabor-Bethany winner.