City receives official canvas of votes from November election

By City of McPherson
December 02, 2019

Tamra Seely, McPherson City Clerk/HR Officer, presented a report on the McPherson County Clerk's official canvas of votes from the 2019 General Election at Monday’s City Commission meeting. 

The results confirmed that Gary Mehl was elected McPherson Commissioner of Public Facilities with 1,722 votes and that Larry E. Wiens was re-elected as McPherson Commissioner of Public Works with 1,136 votes. 

Mehl ran against Michael Yates and won 1,722 to 581, while Wiens ran against Anne Hassler Heidel and Richard E. Keim. Hassler Heidel received 660 votes and Keim received 485 votes.  

The City Commissioners will be sworn in on Monday, January 13, 2020.

Current Commissioner of Public Works, Bob Moore, will be honored with a retirement reception on Monday, Dec. 16, from 10 a.m. to Noon at the McPherson Municipal Center, 400 E. Kansas Ave.