Mac football players earn academic honors

By McPherson College Sports Information
December 22, 2013

ROME, Ga. —  The NAIA announced Friday that 259 football student-athletes have been named 2013 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes. Bulldog football athletes Tyler Bruton, Evan Clary, Heath Hewitt, Micah Roehl and William Tebbetts made the list.

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

Hewitt is the lone offensive representative for McPherson as the offensive lineman made the scholar-athlete squad for the second straight year. He also received CoSIDA Academic All-America honors earlier this month. Hewitt was a four-year player for Bulldog football and will graduate in May with a degree in Biology Education.

This season, Mac's defense allowed an average 135.7 yards on the ground to their opponents in a run-heavy conference. They tallied 20 sacks for 132 total yardage lost and had 81.5 tackles for a loss. After 11 games, Mac ranked sixth in the nation in opponent third down percentage at 28.8 percent. Bruton and Roehl were linebackers for the Bulldog defense while Clary and Tebbetts played along the line.