Lane chosen MVP of McPherson Invitational

By Steve Sell
January 25, 2014
Kendall Shaw

Khadre Lane, whose 25 points led Lawrence Free State to a 51-45 victory over Shawnee Mission East in the championship game of the 50th annual McPherson Invitational Saturday night, was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

McPherson High was represented by Kyler Kinnamon, as voting was done by the eight coaches and a media member. Kinnamon was last year’s MVP.

Three Wichita North players — Tristyn Villa, Sean Bernard and Tarius Williams — were on the list, along with Cole Moreano of Lawrence Free State, Blaise Gammon and Connor Kaiser of Blue Valley West, Lucas Jones and Colin Burns of Shawnee Mission East and Jeremy Dunham of Derby.