Bethany thinclads earn honors

By Steve Sell
February 11, 2014

LINDSBORG — The KCAC has announced the IMA Corp. 2014 Indoor Track and Field Champion of Character Award winners.

Senior Kaitlyn Davis of Hill City and junior Jeremiah Gerardy of Maquoketa, Iowa, of the Bethany College indoor track and field team were named All-KCAC Champion of Character Award Winners.

Davis, daughter of Carl and Julie Davis, is majoring in physical education. She was also named an IMA-KCAC Volleyball Champion of Character Award winner in November 2013.

Gerardy, son of Richard and Renee Gerardy, is majoring in finance. He was also named an IMA-KCAC Cross Country Champion of Character Award winner in November 2013.

"We are extremely proud of both Jeremiah and Kaitlyn," Bethany coach Ken Ciolek said. "They both represent themselves, their families and Bethany College with the utmost integrity both on and off the track and truly embody what this award stands for. Bethany College could not have asked for better recipients of this award, and the Bethany track and field program are lucky to be led by their leadership."

The All-KCAC Champion of Character Award recognizes student-athletes who have demonstrated the five NAIA Champion of Character core values of respect, responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship, and servant leadership in the classroom, field of play, and in their approach to life.

Coaches are asked each season to nominate one student-athlete from their team who best demonstrates the NAIA Champions of Character program.

The criteria for being selected as an All-KCAC Champion of Character student athlete are: a full-time student in good standing; currently participating in a varsity intercollegiate program; one full academic year of full-time status and participation in the varsity intercollegiate sport program; a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher; the nominee has not been ejected for fighting or other sportsmanship reasons during the current season.

Student-athletes may be nominated and receive the Champion of Character award up to three times during their career.