Mac's Barton earns KCAC honors

By Steve Sell
February 26, 2014
McPherson College Sports Information

WICHITA — McPherson College’s Aubrey Barton was named to the KCAC All-Freshman Team, as postseason women’s basketball awards were announced Wednesday by the conference.

Barton was joined on the team by KCAC Freshman of the Year Ashley Romig of Ottawa, Hailey Davis of Sterling, Tena Loewen of Tabor and Shann Sellars of Friends.

Barton also was named honorable mention All-KCAC.

Tabor’s electric point guard Nikki Lewis was named KCAC Player of the Year, while Southwestern’s Dave Denly was chosen Coach of the Year after leading the Moundbuilders to an 18-0 conference record and automatic berth into the national tournament.

Lewis was joined on the first team by Sarah Munds of Friends, Amber Ramsey of Ottawa, and Jessica Hobbs and Trinicia Shaffer of Southwestern.

The second team included Kayla Mollere of Friends, April Harpe of Bethel, Janelle Rust and Tonisha Dean of Tabor and Jana Reichenberger of Southwestern. Mollere also was named the KCAC Newcomer of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Kansas Wesleyan’s Christian Cassity and Alecia Smith, and Ottawa’s Romig and Mikayla Skidmore led the third team. Lori Dauer of Sterling, a graduate of Smoky Valley High School, completed the team.

Joining Barton and Bethany’s Alex Brammer as honorable mention selections were Vanessa Kresin of Kansas Wesleyan, Zefiryn Bryan, Jordan Hobbs and Sheri Zoglman of Southwestern, Davis of Sterling, Kayla Justice and Kassy Ptacek of Friends and Tena Loewen of Tabor.

Joining Mollere on the All-Defensive Team were Ottawa’s Ramsey, Southwestern’s Zoglman and Kaitlyn Tennyson of Southwestern and Tabor’s Lewis.