MHS' Eldredge, Graber on D-III 1st team

By Steve Sell
March 11, 2014

McPherson High’s wrestling team, which placed third in AVCTL Division III with a 3-2 league record, placed two members on the first team as postseason honors were announced today.

Austin Eldredge earned first-team honors at 106, while Todd Graber was a first-team 145-pound selection.

Second-team honorees for the Bullpups were Cole Kretzer at 113 and Kobe Unruh at 160.

Three Bullpups earned honorable mention, including Kaleb Jost at 170, Ross Regier at 195 and Michael McKinney at 285.

The Coach of the Year went to Winfield’s Nate McGrew even though his team was fourth with a 2-3 record. Mulvane won the league at 5-0 and Buhler was second at 4-1, with MHS rounding out the upper division.

Winfield’s Trevor Smith was named Division III Wrestler of the Year.

Here is the first team:

106 — Austin Eldredge, McPherson

113 — Chance Maynard, Buhler

120 — Anthony Scantlin, Mulvane

126 — Reno Hughey, El Dorado

132 — Trevor Smith, Winfield

138 — Jake Wilson, Rose Hill

145 — Todd Graber, McPherson

152 — Scott Whitson, Buhler

160 — Matt Triboletti, El Dorado

170 — Evan Elston, Mulvane

182 — Ashtyn Cody, Rose Hill

195 — Henry Hickert, Buhler

220 — Jon Yates, Buhler

285 — Jacob Burnett, El Dorado