Little River, Elyria Christian cagers honored

By Steve Sell
March 14, 2014

Little River’s boys dominated the Wheat State League first team in a recent vote of basketball coaches.

The Redskins placed three members on the first team — Tevin Renken, Chord Zeller and Zack Konen.

Other first-team selections were Sam Morgan of Rural Vista, Keenan Westerman of Wakefield, Ty Simons of Centre, Blake Homman and Jordan Rangel of Solomon, Ben Wiens of Goessel and Braxton Kyle of Peabody.

Honorable mention picks were Adam Adkins of Rural Vista, Lawton Makovec of Goessel, Trey Adams and Dylan Murphy of Wakefield and Andrew Meagher of Solomon.

Rural Vista’s Joel Kahnt was Coach of the Year.

Little River’s girls and Elyria Christian had a pair of first-team selections.

Chosen for the Redskins were Skylar Johnston and Emily Baldwin, while the Eagles were represented by sisters Rachel and Anna Adamyk.

Also on the first team were Shelby Makovec and Cacey Simons of Centre, Alexis Campuzano and Morgan Ash of Rural Vista, Page Hiebert of Goessel and Jamie Meagher of Solomon.

Little River’s Kasey Zeller was chosen honorable mention. She was joined by McKenzie Deines and Bryanna Svoboda of Centre, Autumn Adams of Wakefield and Alicen Meysing of Goessel.

Little River’s Shane Cordell was named Coach of the Year.